Search Constraints

You searched for: Topical Subjects Counties--Jefferson. Remove constraint Topical Subjects: Counties--Jefferson.
Number of results to display per page

Search Results

James Rumsey was the inventor of the first steamboat.
Soon after the Civil War, John Storer contributed $10,000 towards establishing a college in Harpers Ferry, W. Va. This institution of higher learning was the first college below the Mason- Dixon Line to accept students "without distinction of race or color". The school bears the name of it's principle benefactor,  Storer College.
'From an article in the Morgantown Post published in August 6, 1938.  Charles Town Academy, one of the first W. Va. academies, was founded in 1979.  Three sons of James Madison, 4th President of the United States, were educated here.  This photograph was taken in 1877.'
View of the Charles Town Academy, one of the first West Virginia academies, founded in 1797. Three sons of James Madison, fourth president of the United States, were educated here.
A horse harnessed to a "gig" owned by Ferdinand Fairfax, nephew of Lord Thomas Fairfax. Ferdinand lived at Shannon Hill on the Shenandoah River in Jefferson County, Virginia, later West Virginia.
(From postcard collection legacy system--subject.)
Seated is W.E.B. Du Bois. Standing, from left to right, is J. R. Clifford, L. M. Hershaw, and F. H. M. Murray.
Women of the Niagara Movement at Storer College in Harpers Ferry, W. Va.  Left to right are Mrs. O. M. Waller, Mrs. H. F. M. Murray, Mrs. Mollie Lewis Kelan, Mrs. IdaD. Bailey, Miss Sadie Shorter, and Mrs. Charlotte Hershaw.  Mrs. Gertrude Wright Morgan is seated.
Published by W. L. Erwin. (From postcard collection legacy system--subject.)
Published by W. L. Erwin. (From postcard collection legacy system--subject.)
Copyright by National Tribune. See original for postcard historical information on John Brown's fort. (From postcard collection legacy system--subject.)
Copyright by National Tribune. See postcard for historical information on Harpers Ferry. (From postcard collection legacy system--subject.)
Showing Three States, W. Va., Va., and Md.
See original for correspondence. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
Horse drawn buggies crowd around the show grounds and people fill the grandstand for the competitions
Group portrait of United Mine Workers leaders and lawyers at Jefferson County Courthouse, W. Va. Front Row, Left to Right; James M. Mason, C. J. Van Fleet, Samuel B. Montgomery, Harold Wilkins Houston, William Blizzard, John L. Lewis, Charles Franklin Keeney.
George Packette is the man standing near the ruins.
View from the south west.
View from the southwest.
View of outbuilding from south-east.
Also known as the Fairfax Grant Stock Farm, built ca. 1775.
Outbuilding which is probably a meat house on a large farm, viewed from the south-west.
View of the Horatio Gates home from the north-east.
Named Falling Spring and located near Shepherdstown, West Virginia. The structure was built by Jacob Morgan in 1841. Viewed from the south-east.
Built by Samuel Washington, younger brother of George Washington in 1770. Viewed from the north-west.
Built by John Thornton Augustine Washington, grand-nephew of George Washington, in 1825. View from the south-east.
Built by Samuel Washington, younger brother of George Washington, in 1770. View from the south-east.
Located near Leetown and built in 1835 by Federal Judge Henry St. George Tucker. View from the south-east.
Handhewn clapboard house was built ca. 1751. Peter Burr was first cousin to United States Vice President Aaron Burr.
Handhewn clapboard house was built ca. 1751. Peter Burr was first cousin to United States Vice President Aaron Burr.
John Worthington built the original structure in 1735. Dr. John Briscoe remodeled the house to it's present day appearance in 1780. View from the south-west.
The "back House' shown in the is photograph was built in ca. 1737 by Richard Morgan, and grandson, Daniel Morgan built the "Great House" ca. 1800.
Slave quarters and outbuilding viewed from the South East. Also known as the R. Lucas House.
Possibly part of the Vestal or Shenandoah Bloomery, the first ironworks west of the Blue Ridge Mountains. William Vestal operate the ironworks built on his land, from 1742 to 1760.
Also called Tudor Hall. Built ca. 1820, the view is from the north-east.
House was built in ca. 1845. Since the photograph was taken the house has been demolished.
The Selby-Hamtramck House, the "most fashionable hotel in town."
"Built in 1795 by David Harris, after whom Harrisburg, Pa. was named. It is part of a very long old frame building, a part of which still stands."
This tavern was "built in 1742 by the McCormick brothers."
View of a church and graveyard at Middleway. It was formerly Smithfield, West Virginia.
The "Crazy House" was built by a former mayor of Harpers Ferry in 1914. His hobby was collecting "old relics", which he placed inside walls of the house during construction. Such items as old china plates and bullets can be seen encased in the structure. The builder also made an impression of a coffin in the front sidewalk and wrote above it, "Remains of Old Worry", making the property an popular tourist attraction. Refer to A&M 454, Box 25; Folder 11 for more information.
African-American man holding a horse in front of the Gibson - Packette house on Samuel Street.
William B. Packette Sr.and possibly his daughter Frances Packette in a buggy harnessed to a horse named "Prince".
Father, William B. Packette and daughter, Frances Packette riding in a buggy drawn by two horses, Bird and Dan.
Dirt-paved main street looks desserted on this "busy day".(From postcard collection legacy system.)
From a drawing made by Henry Howe in 1843.
Various homegrown and homemade goods are present on the display tables.
The photograph was most likely taken during the first year of Civil War when the Federal Army occupied Harpers Ferry, Va. (later West Virginia).
Fort building stands in a field where two children are playing in the foreground. Inscription with the image, 'The present site of John Brown's Fort as it now stands in a field overlooking the Shenandoah River, in [West] Virginia, a few miles from where it originally stood at Harper's Ferry.  It was placed here at the request of Kate Field, of Washington after it was exhibited at the World's Fair in Chicago.'
Small white X in the middle of postcard on building is John Brown's Fort. All three states, Virginia, Maryland, and West Virginia can be seen as well as the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers. Published by W.L. Erwin. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
View from the Camp Hill area in Harpers Ferry includes the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers, Maryland Heights and "Virginia Heights" (Loudoun Heights). (From postcard collection legacy system.)
View from Maryland Heights above the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad tunnel. See original for correspondence. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
Published by Reinhart's Pharmacy. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. Published by The World Post Card Company. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
(From postcard collection legacy system.)
(From postcard collection legacy system.)
(From postcard collection legacy system.)
Bridge connecting the two states over the Potomac River. See the original for the correspondence.(From postcard collection legacy system.)
From this view you can see such things as the Shenandoah River, Loudoun Heights, Virginia, a Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Bridge, as well as a paper mill and hotel in the town of Harpers Ferry.(From postcard collection legacy system.)
Several landmarks and structures, such as camp hill, the Armory and John Brown's Fort are labeled. See original for correspondence. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
(From postcard collection legacy system.)
Published by I. & M. Ottenheimer. See original for correspondence. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
Published by C.N. Beard. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
Published by W.E. Dittmeyer. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. Published by M. Ottenheimer. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
(From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. Published by Reinhart's Pharmacy. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. Published by Lyons Studio. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
(From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. Published by C.N. Beard. (From postcard collection legacy system).
See original for correspondence. Published by Hayward. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
See original for correspondence. Published by  W.E. Dittmeyer. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
Burned by the Confederates in 1861. See original for correspondence. Published by W.L. Erwin. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
View of Douglas Hill, also known as Ferry Place Hill, on the Maryland side. Published by Reinhart's Pharmacy. (From postcard collection legacy system.)
Published by W.L. Erwin. (From postcard collection legacy system.)